My First Workout: The reason you STILL don’t have the body of your dreams!

I’ll never forget the worst weekend in the history of my modeling pursuits. After months of anticipation and preparation, I auditioned for Oklahoma Fashion Week, and was elated to make the first and second round of cuts. What many people don’t know is that modeling is not as well paying as it may seem. Models are responsible for their travel expenses and typically receive little to no pay even for high profile jobs.

There is nothing like the sound of a tight zipper for a model, its the sound of money (coins, really) that you won’t earn, shows you won’t walk in, and fashion that you will not get to experience.To make a long story short arrived at the fitting only to find that my designer cut me from the show . At 5’9, 140lbs, I am not the skinniest girl you have ever seen but my collarbones and arms reveal that there isn’t much weight I can lose. Not only did the designer cut me from her show, I didn’t find out until after a wild night of model/designer parties as I was preparing for the show the next day.  After my experience I became serious about losing  weight, I tried a dramatic no carb diet. I lost six pounds in one week, but I was completely exhausted, grouchy, and hungry.

Fast forward to today, I am writing this from my car because my legs are too wobbly to trust yet. I met a personal trainer in my area for a free consultation, and in his words, “an idea of what the workout will be like”. I was very open about my expectations with Smiley, I explained that I wanted to lose  three inches off my hips, lose twenty pounds, and tone my inner thighs for the ever elusive thigh gap. By the end of our workout I thought I would faint. Smiley knew exactly how far to push me to make my dream body a reality.  In all my weight loss escapades, I had never had anyone that believed in my goals and understood my motivations and how to get me there. My body naturally maintains a generally slender size, but  I’m not willing to settle for “ok” when I can have exactly what I want.

Dr Phil has a mantra that I embrace when I set goals, “Be, Do, Have”. His mantra incorporates the three steps in achieving goals, “being” certain about what we want in life, “doing” what it takes, and “having” what we want. I love that there is no room for “finding out”, “trying”, or “thinking about”. Let’s face it, nothing is guaranteed.  In an instant, we could lose our opportunity live, let alone chase our dreams. When I realized that getting my career on track is a priority right now, I decided to reach for help and you should too.  It could make a world of difference.

I want to hear what your personal goals are, is there an expert you can bring into your  situation to accomplish your goal? I don’t mind sharing my journey to fab with you! Follow me on Instagram- @faithmutiri or Twitter- @fayfay1927.

Until next time, I have faith in your fab!

xx

Faith

Leave a Reply

